Missouri Home Education Law

Leonardo Da Vinci once said:

"Just as eating against one's will is injurious to health, so study without a liking for it spoils the memory, and it retains nothing it takes in."

Law books and judge's gavel.

Missouri Homeschool Law

Compulsory School Age: between 7 and 16 years

Attendance: 1,000 hours per year

Required Subjects: reading, math, social studies, language arts, and science

Teacher Qualifications: none

Notification to School District: not required, however, parents may provide a notice within 30 days of establishment and on Sept. 1 of each year thereafter

Record Keeping: keep records of subjects, activities, and hours of instruction; keep samples of work

Testing: none required

For a more detailed analysis of the laws, please visit HSLDA's web site:

http://www.hslda.org/laws/default.asp?State=MO

Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Page:

http://dese.mo.gov/schoollaw/HomeSch/index.html

Legal Updates

At this time, there are no legislative alerts and no changes in legislation to report.

For more details, you may visit one of the following sites: